Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

At Oakley we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which focuses on learning through play.

We put your child at the centre, and our cycle of observations, assessment and planning ensures your child will make good progress and enjoy doing it. By using the child’s current interests and using what that already know and how they learn, based on the characteristics of effective learning, creating & thinking critically. We can ensure each child’s individual needs are met and provided for.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge, and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social, and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Keyperson Approach

Each child is assigned a Keyperson, they will ensure that your child’s care and learning is tailored to meet their individual needs and development, to help them become familiar with the setting and offer a settled relationship with the child and a good relationship with the parents.